Theft Crimes

Have You Been Charged With A Theft Crime In Florida?

Tampa Theft Crime Attorney

Florida theft laws and charges can vary depending on the value of the item(s) stolen. You could be charged with petit theft, a misdemeanor and even a felony. Let alone future repercussions if potential employers run background checks. Some of these charges can be dropped given certain circumstances, some can be reduced, some can result in jail time and some can result in community service.

Florida Theft Laws 

Petit Theft – Second Degree Misdemeanor

  • Item stolen is equivalent to $100 or less
  • Jail time up to 60 days or pay fine of $500
  • Can get charges resolved without conviction or dropped

First Degree Misdemeanor Theft

  • Item stolen is greater than $100, but less than $300
  • Jail time up to 1 year and pay fine of $1,000
  • Can get charges reduced, resolved without conviction or dropped

Felony Theft

  • Item stolen is greater than $300
  • Jail time up to 5 years and pay fine of $5,000
  • Can get charges reduced, resolved without conviction or dropped

If you are a first-time offender, BJE Law, P.A. can work to get your charges dropped as well as seal or expunge your record. If your record gets expunged, you can answer “No” when asked if you have ever been arrested or convicted of a crime. However, if you do not seek proper legal help, you stand a very likely chance of getting convicted and theft charges stay on your record forever.

Let BJE Law, P.A. be your theft defense lawyer and get you the best outcome for your situation. Call us today!